Shannon B Douglas is Chasing Quicksilver
Shannon B Douglas is Chasing Quicksilver Podcast
Chasing Quicksilver - Episode 5 - Explorer Mode and the Definition of Consciousness
0:00
-28:14

Chasing Quicksilver - Episode 5 - Explorer Mode and the Definition of Consciousness

CQ - Merging Science, Sacred Story and Soul

No small exercise here: in order to build the bridge towards the understanding of the soul we have to arrive at a functional definition of Consciousness. This is the biggest question (Quest) human beings have ever undertaken.

Last week’s episode, Fishers and Farmers, was a fictionalized account of the first time I found myself seeing propaganda bubbles and factionalized narratives. These bubbles are collective consciousnesses or fields of consciousness that operate as single organisms. I was seven years old.

Coincident to this release was the Canadian Truckers Freedom Protest 2022 in Ottawa, happening only a short walk from my home. The tribal divisions were on full display and so were the demonization tactics used by the media and the federal government of Justin Trudeau, the Liberals. (I note here that I have identified as a Liberal and voted consistently that way for thirty years) so I’m not criticizing here as a one of the so-called fringe minority.

In this chapter I begin to integrate the ideas we’ve covered so far, the nature and teleology of the soul and the nature of and structure of Psyche. We explore what we understand from modern psychology, the unconscious realm of fat-berg monsters, and the superconscious realm of the archetypes.

I also explore, what according to Brett Weinstein, is one of the most important questions in evolutionary biology.

Perhaps this is where I take the greatest risk in Chasing Quicksilver, an attempt to define consciousness itself; which has been an intractable problem in modern philosophy - known as “the Hard Problem of Consciousness”

Let me know what you think.

0 Comments
Shannon B Douglas is Chasing Quicksilver
Shannon B Douglas is Chasing Quicksilver Podcast
Chasing Quicksilver - A Literary, Narrative Non-Fiction on the nature of the Soul.